Dagnydarling's Blog

Tuesday Evening Musings From Your Favorite Dear Abby Wannabe.

Posted in Uncategorized by dagnydarling on June 1, 2011

In re-reading a lot of my posts, I tend to write heavily about first dates.  Not so much second ones, or third ones, or gulp, break ups.  And as I’m sure everyone will agree- that’s mostly because break ups SUCK.  Like, suck hard.  Perhaps I’m fortunate because I only had one really awful break up that made me a complete bucket of crazy… but I survived it.  I came through the other end with only a slightly alarming drinking problem. 

But- because I’m a good person and I have not much else to write about, I’m going to go ahead and tell you how I was able to move on.  Because that shit is hard.  And sometimes you need a tore-up 23 year old girl with a laptop to tell you how life works.  It’s cool.

1.  Get you some friends.  Good ones.  The last thing a broken hearted, melodramatic girl needs are girls who give shitty advice or just judge you as you cry into your bottle glass of wine.  Recruit the girls who bring you more bottles of wine to be your support system, not the judgy ones.

2. Leave it be.  Just don’t.  I know, you think you have something really important to say… If only you had told him that one thought you had!  He would totally still be in love with you!  …Only, he wouldn’t.  So when you want to pick up the phone/email/blog/twitter (technology is not your friend), punch yourself or something.  Or go back to the bottle of wine.  But do NOT make contact.  Just keep reminding yourself: out of sight, out of mind. Then repeat.

3. On the opposite end of #2, don’t let him jerk you around.  They don’t do that because they are having genuine second thoughts, they do that because they are genuinely terrified of being alone.  I’m sure you’re lovely, but if he wanted you, he’d be with you.

4.  Watch He’s Just Not That Into You and cry for a little while.

5. Cry some more.  I don’t really get (or like) the girls who say, “I just got over him.  I turned off my emotions and I’m over it.” No you’re not you freak of nature! You’re dying on the inside.  Stop pretending like your heart works better than mine.  At the risk of suppressing all those emotions and having them burst out at the worst possible moment and embarrassing the bananas out of you- feel what you have to feel.  Embrace the emotion, accept it, let it go. 

6. Don’t get fat.  Tempting, I know.  But that “Nobody will ever love me again and I’m awful and oh my god I’m just going to wear these pajamas until I die of loneliness” is not a good plan.  Again, call your friend and drink.

7.  But don’t drink too much!  This will make you fat.  And maybe make you cry… okay, it’s totally gonna make you cry and your beer belly will be laughing at you and you’ll just want to die all over again.  So balance the booze with something that makes you feel good about yourself.

8.  People LOVE that saying “The best way to get over someone is to get under someone new.”  That might work.  But I think it just makes you extra crazy, and a whole lotta desperate and maybe an HIV patient.  Triple threat, and I promise, you will only be distracted but not for very long.

9. Keep going… Just keep doing what you do.  Don’t let a break up tell you anything about yourself except that you are ONE step closer to finding the right guy.  So that’s exciting, in a bitter sweet way.

10.  Have faith that you will, one day, be able to see him from across a patio and say to yourself, “oh, there’s  the guy who broke my heart so many months ago.”  And then that thought will be swiftly followed by, “Wait… am I… okay?”

And you will be.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jaclyn Rae said, on June 1, 2011 at 5:36 am

    Oh gosh, I love you for writing this. I’m so glad you’re back to blogging! :)

  2. woopsimthatgirl said, on June 1, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    ‘OMG Mr. is here!’
    ‘Mr Who?’
    ‘Mr Pretty!’
    I still feel bad about it

    But your right and you did good!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

